Bluewater race to Gold Coast

Among the recent entries received for the 2015 Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race is a trio of yachts representing as many states, their owners looking forward to helping celebrate the 30th edition of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia’s (CYCA) bluewater pointscore opener when it starts on July 25.

Some 60 yachts are expected to take part in the 384nm race, which begins at Nielson Park on Sydney Harbour and finishes at Main Beach, Southport.

Darryl Hodgkinson returns with his 2013 Rolex Sydney Hobart-winning Cookson 50 Victoire, intent on bettering his seventh overall of last year, while South Australia’s Geoff Boettcher has replaced his 2010 Sydney Hobart-winning Secret Mens Business with a TP52 of the same name, and Olympian Matt Percy is bringing Alacrity down from Queensland.

It’s expected they’ll be among the front runners for overall honours, joining the likes of last year’s winner, Sam Haynes, with his newly purchased TP52 Celestial and Roger Hickman, who won the 1991 and1994 races with Wild Rose, the same boat he sailed to victory in the Sydney Hobart last year.

Spectators wanting to view the start of the race from a top-deck vantage point can do so aboard MV Coast. To book a spot, go to: goldcoast.cyca.com.au..

2015 Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race
Image credit: Andrea Francolini.

Whilst every care is taken by the publishers, Club Marine Ltd (ACN 007 588 347), and editors of the Latest News pages of www.clubmarine.com.au, they accept no responsibility for material submitted, the accuracy of information in the text, illustrations or images contained herein. This publication is copyright. Other than for the purposes of review, and subject to the Copyright Act, no part of it may, in any form or by any means, be reproduced without prior written permission. Enquiries should be address to the publishers.

All submissions to the Latest News pages of www.clubmarine.com.au should be sent to: magazine@clubmarine.com.au.